Andrew Seliskar Named 2019 CSCAA Swimmer of the Year

Cal senior Andrew Seliskar has been named the CSCAA (College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America) Swimmer of the Year for 2019 after triumphing all 3 of his special occasions.
Interestingly, Seliskar entered this yr’s meet as arguably the first-class swimmer in university swimming to have never received a man or woman NCAA identify. He finishes the match without losing a single man or woman race at NCAAs this 12 months.
Seliskar received the two hundred IM on day 2, going 1:38.14 and damn the American record. He turned into just .01 faraway from the record set by way of closing 12 months’ Swimmer of the Year, Caeleb Dressel, and quicker than every person else in documents with the aid of a complete 2d.
A day later changed into his mea culpa – ditching his conventional four hundred IM for the 2 hundred loose, he disappointed 3-time defending NCAA champ Townley Haas for the 2 hundred loose identities, going 1:30.14. That puts him #4 all-time.
Finally, earlier these days he beat out protecting NCAA 2 hundred breast champion Ian Finnerty for the 2 hundred breast name. Seliskar turned into 1: forty-eight.70, transfer to #3 all-time.

He also swam the most of 4 relays. Swimming prelims and finals in 3 of the four. Here’s a chronological take a look at each of his 12 swims this week:
800 free relay timed very last: 1:30.14 leadoff (third as a group)
200 unfastened relay prelims: 18.53 break up
200 IM prelims: 1:39.Ninety
2 hundred loose relay finals: 18.40 cut up (1st as a group)
200 IM finals: 1:38.14 (1st)
400 medley relay finals: forty four.32 flies break up (second as a crew)
2 hundred free prelims: 1:31.64
200 loose finals: 1:30.14 (1st)
200 breast prelims: 1: fifty-one .19
four hundred unfastened relay prelims: 41.38 split
200 breast finals: 1:48.70 (1st)
400 loose relay finals: forty-one.10 split (3rd as a team)
He finishes with four occasion wins, three of them character, in conjunction with relay finishes of 2nd, 3rd, and 3rd.
Previous winners:
2018 Caeleb Dressel, Florida
2017 Caeleb Dressel, Florida
2016 Ryan Murphy, California, Joseph Schooling, Texas and Caeleb Dressel, Florida
2015 Ryan Murphy, California
2014 Kevin Cordes, Arizona
2013 Kevin Cordes, Arizona
2012 Tom Shields, California
2011 Nathan Adrian, California
2010 Conor Dwyer, Florida
2009 Tyler Clary, Michigan
2008 Cesar Cielo, Auburn
2007 Cesar Cielo, Auburn
2006 Ryan Lochte, Florida
2005 Ryan Lochte, Florida

Randy Montgomery

Hardcore pop culture trailblazer. Music junkie. Troublemaker. Twitter fan. Travel nerd. Tv guru. Snowboarder, dreamer, DJ, Swiss design-head and identity designer. Performing at the sweet spot between minimalism and intellectual purity to create not just a logo, but a feeling. Let's make every day A RAZZLE-DAZZLE MUSICAL.

Related Articles

Back to top button